Maple-Oat Banana Coconut Bread

I have this thing about bananas. I like them at perfection. One brown spot and I’m hesitant. Several brown spots and I’m repulsed. This is when they are best left in the freezer until I have the time to make some sort of banana bread. The five I had were taking up space for ice cream, so I was suddenly in a baking mood. I turned to one of my favorite food blogs, Pinch of Yum. I like Lindsay because she’s a teacher, like me, and neither of us has TV. Oh yeah, and her recipes rock.

I found her Maple Banana Bread recipe and only tweaked it a little. Mainly because I didn’t have maple flavored extract and I usually must add coconut to any breads/muffins I bake.

Maple-Oat Banana Coconut Bread

Ingredients:

1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup butter, soft
2 eggs
3-4 large, ripe bananas
3 teaspoon maple syrup
1 1/2 cups flour
1/2 cup oatmeal
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup coconut

Directions:

Mix all ingredients
Add maple syrup
Add last three ingredients and mix until just combined
Pour into a greased 9×5 pan
Bake at 350 for 75 minutes (I left mine for 90 until it was solid throughout)

Since it’s usually just me around here (and even if it weren’t, Nick would never have any because it’s fruit and bread mixed together and that just doesn’t work for him), I have to stop myself from eating a half a loaf in one sitting. So, I slice the loaf, bagging each piece, and freeze them. Then, I can pull one out to take with me to work for a 2nd breakfast. You can tell me how clever I am in the comments.

-Bon Appetit!

One response

Leave a Reply

